Cy Young Odds

Latest Cy Young odds from top Ohio sportsbooks

Sports bettors in Ohio have many way to bet on Major League Baseball, with the Cy Young Award one of the most intriguing examples of futures bets available when wagering on the MLB.

In the distant past, just one pitcher won the award for the entire MLB. Since 1967, however, each league’s top pitcher receive a Cy Young. At the end of the regular season, members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America vote on who will win the award both for the AL and NL..

Here’s everything you need to know about betting on the Cy Young Award in Ohio.

AL/NL Cy Young odds 2024

OH sportsbooks with best MLB Cy Young odds

When it comes to online sports betting in Ohio, it’s always best to go for legal and regulated alternatives. This way, you’ll know that your online sportsbook has met standards for keeping your money and personal details safe. Here are some legal potential options for Ohio bettors who want to bet on the Cy Young Award, or anything else related to baseball:

  • FanDuel Sportsbook Ohio: FanDuel is one of the top legal sportsbooks in the US. You’ll be able to bet on all MLB games, along with some distinct prop bets that you won’t find at other sportsbooks. Aside from baseball, you can bet on all the other major sports. Other things to look forward to are FanDuel’s slick app and a variety of bonuses.
  • BetMGM Sportsbook Ohio: When you opt for BetMGM, you get one of the most trusted names around. BetMGM launched in 2017 and is a part of the revered MGM brand. It offers numerous baseball-related bets, and you can also place bets on a variety of other sports. You can also look forward to a quick live-betting experience, a solid sports betting app and a quality loyalty program.
  • Caesars Sportsbook Ohio: Caesars is another sportsbook with ties to a casino giant. Caesars’ odds have proven to be consistently competitive, and other perks include a great layout on both the PC site and sportsbook app and a large number of sports that you can bet on.

Betting rules for Cy Young futures bets

Futures bets generally settle at the end of the season as opposed to the various bets that settle at the end of a game. In the case of the Cy Young Award, you’ll receive payment on a winning bet only after MLB has announced the winners.

The odds for many futures bets come out months in advance of the start of the regular season at MLB betting sites. However, most futures bets also remain available during most of the season, particularly the early part. So, if you’re unable to place a futures bet before the season starts, you may still be able to do so for much of the season.

Most sportsbooks have general rules regarding futures bets. For example, a long-term injury won’t void a futures bet. For instance, if you place a bet on pitcher X to win the Cy Young Award, and that pitcher suffers a long-term injury, the sportsbook won’t give a refund, and the bet will still stand.

However, if something happens to disrupt or cancel a season, most sportsbooks will provide refunds in such situations. And when you’re betting on the Cy Young Award, here are a few specific rules to keep in mind:

  • Only the regular season matters. Postseason results do not influence the voting, as voters cast their ballots before the postseason starts.
  • Two or more pitchers can share the award if they receive the same number of points from voting.

Cy Young betting trends and data

As with many sports bets, looking at past trends for the Cy Young Award can help you predict future winners. We’ll go over a few noteworthy trends and stats of potential interest below.

Recently, pitchers in their prime years — between 26 and 29 — have done well in Cy Young voting. While there are exceptions, over recent years the average age of a Cy Young winner has consistently hovered around 28.

While it’s rare for a player to win multiple year-end awards, there are cases when a pitcher has won both the MVP and the Cy Young. Since the introduction of the Cy Young Award, there have been 11 occasions — as of 2022 — when a player has won both the Cy Young and the MVP. The last to do so was Clayton Kershaw in 2014.

In recent seasons, we’ve seen multiple back-to-back NL Cy Young Award winners, though that hasn’t been the case for the AL Cy Young Award. The last time that a pitcher in the American League won back-to-back Cy Young Awards was in 2000, when Pedro Martínez won the award for a second time. In contrast, between 2000 and 2023, five National League pitchers have won the award in consecutive seasons.

However, repeat winners are relatively common in both leagues. So backing a repeat winner may be a good choice in certain situations, especially if a player is still in his prime.

Another important consideration is a team’s collective success. Most pitchers who win the award come from teams that finish well in their division or win a significant number of games. A pitcher can win the award while playing on an underperforming team, but in general recent winners have tended to come from teams that performed well during the season.

Speaking of stats, while individual win totals have been an important number for award winners in the past, a shift toward more advanced stats has made that less true in some recent cases. For example, Jacob DeGrom won back-to-back Cy Youngs with relatively pedestrian won-lost records (10-9 in 2018 and 11-8 in 2019).

Recent Cy Young winners

Here are the Cy Young winners for the past 10 years in each league:

American League winners

2023Gerrit ColeNew York Yankees
2022Justin VerlanderHouston Astros
2021Robbie RayToronto Blue Jays
2020Shane BieberCleveland Indians
2019Justin VerlanderHouston Astros
2018Blake SnellTampa Bay Rays
2017Corey KluberCleveland Indians
2016Rick PorcelloBoston Red Sox
2015Dallas KeuchelHouston Astros
2014Corey KluberCleveland Indians

National League winners

2023Blake SnellSan Diego Padres
2022Sandy AlcántaraMiami Marlins
2021Corbin BurnesMilwaukee Brewers
2020Trevor BauerCincinnati Reds
2019Jacob DeGromNew York Mets
2018Jacob DeGromNew York Mets
2017Max ScherzerWashington Nationals
2016Max ScherzerWashington Nationals
2015Jake ArrietaChicago Cubs
2014Clayton KershawLos Angeles Dodgers

More MLB futures bets

The Cy Young Award is a great and intriguing futures bet, but there are many other season-focused bets that you can place. If you’re into MLB futures, here are some other long-term MLB futures betting odds:

What Ohio pitchers have won the Cy Young Award?

Cy Young himself was born in Gilmore, Ohio, and pitched for teams in Cleveland during two separate stints in his career. This makes the Cy Young Award a little bit special for Ohioans.

Since the inception of the award, several pitchers have won it while playing for Ohio-based teams:

  • Shane Bieber: Cleveland Indians (2020)
  • Trevor Bauer: Cincinnati Reds (2020)
  • Corey Kluber: Cleveland Indians (2017, 2014)
  • Cliff Lee: Cleveland Indians (2008)
  • CC Sabathia: Cleveland Indians (2007)
  • Gaylord Perry: Cleveland Indians (1972)

Roger Clemens — who has the most Cy Young Awards — was born in Dayton but never played for any Ohio-based team in his career.

Who has the most Cy Young Awards?

With seven awards total, Clemens boasts the most Cy Youngs for a single pitcher. He won the award in the following years: 1986, 1987, 1991, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2004.

Randy Johnson, a Hall of Fame pitcher, won five Cy Young Awards, good for second on the all-time list after Clemens. Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux won four awards each to tie for third on the list.